2020 Albert Bartlett entries: Classy Thyme Hill heads 99 in Cheltenham Festival staying novice hurdle

14th September 2021

2020 Albert Bartlett entries for the Cheltenham Festival includes Thyme Hill

There are 99 2020 Albert Bartlett entries for the 3m Grade 1 novice hurdle test on Gold Cup day – Friday, 13 March – at the Cheltenham Festival this year.

Heading the near 100 horses engaged and the betting with the bookies is Philip Hobbs’ rising star Thyme Hill.

Winner of the Persian War at Chepstow on reappearance, last year’s Champion Bumper third has since followed-up pwith a hat-trick over hurdles.

After success in South Wales, Thyme Hill won a Grade 2 Ballymore Trial under a penalty at Cheltenham and then landed the Grade 1 Challow Novices’ Hurdle at Newbury.

Regular jockey Richard Johnson faces a race against time to be fit to take the ride on him at the Festival, however, after breaking his arm.

Behind Thyme Hill in the market are a number of Irish raiders with 57 Albert Bartlett entries from the Emerald Isle.

Monkfish is one of 19 engaged for Ireland’s champion jumps trainer Willie Mullins. He has demonstrated his stamina with wide-margin wins in minor events at Fairyhouse and Thurles.

Mullins has also entered some of his novice mares including Punchestown Champion Bumper heroine Colreevy, last year’s Dawn Run runner-up Concertista, Dolcita and Drury.

Gordon Elliott has 10 Albert Bartlett entries with Fury Road prominent in the market for the County Meath handler and one of many engaged by owners Gigginstown House Stud.

He is unbeaten in three hurdles starts, but was sent off at evens or shorter each time.

Paul Nolan trains another Irish Albert Bartlett hopeful for Cheltenham in the progressive Latest Exhibition.

Colin Tizzard may keep Harry Senior and The Big Breakaway apart come the Festival. Both have Albert Bartlett entries, however, and they are solid British contenders if lining up.

Full 2020 Albert Bartlett entries

  • Aione (Willie Mullins, IRE)
  • Aircraft Carrier (Luke Comer, IRE)
  • Anything Will Do (Joseph O’Brien, IRE)
  • Assemble (Joseph O’Brien, IRE)
  • Asterion Forlonge (Willie Mullins, IRE)
  • Battle Of Midway (Noel Meade, IRE)
  • Beacon Edge (Noel Meade, IRE)
  • Blazer’s Mill (Olly Murphy)
  • Bobby Bow (Johnny Farrelly)
  • Braeside (Gordon Elliott, IRE)
  • Brinkley (David Pipe)
  • Cat Tiger (Paul Nicholls)
  • Champagne Well (Fergal O’Brien)
  • Cobbler’s Way (Henry De Bromhead, IRE)
  • Colreevy (Willie Mullins, IRE)
  • Column Of Fire (Gordon Elliott, IRE)
  • Concertista (Willie Mullins, IRE)
  • Decor Irlandais (Noel Kelly, IRE)
  • Diol Ker (Noel Meade, IRE)
  • Do Your Job (Michael Scudamore)
  • Doctor Duffy (Charles Byrnes, IRE)
  • Dolcita (Willie Mullins, IRE)
  • Drury (Willie Mullins, IRE)
  • Easywork (Gordon Elliott, IRE)
  • Eden Flight (Willie Mullins, IRE)
  • Eklat De Rire (Henry De Bromhead, IRE)
  • Elixir d’Ainay (Willie Mullins, IRE)
  • Escaria Ten (Gordon Elliott, IRE)
  • Et Dite (Willie Mullins, IRE)
  • Eurowork (Nigel Hawke)
  • Fan De Blues (Willie Mullins, IRE)
  • Festival d’Ex (Gordon Elliott, IRE)
  • Fils d’Oudairies (Joseph O’Brien, IRE)
  • Five O’clock (Willie Mullins, IRE)
  • Floueur (Gordon Elliott, IRE)
  • Foxy Jacks (Mouse Morris, IRE)
  • Francin (Willie Mullins, IRE)
  • French Dynamite (Mouse Morris, IRE)
  • Friary Rock (Mouse Morris, IRE)
  • Fully Charged (Henry De Bromhead, IRE)
  • Fun Light (Joseph O’Brien, IRE)
  • Fury Road (Gordon Elliott, IRE)
  • Harry Senior (Colin Tizzard)
  • Heaven Help Us (Paul Hennessy, IRE)
  • Home By The Lee (Joseph O’Brien, IRE)
  • House Island (Paul Webber)
  • I K Brunel (Olly Murphy)
  • Illegal Model (Charlie Longsdon)
  • Imperial Alcazar (Fergal O’Brien)
  • Janidil (Willie Mullins, IRE)
  • Jepeck (Anthony Honeyball)
  • Kalooki (Philip Hobbs)
  • Kiltealy Briggs (Jamie Snowden)
  • Last Minute Man (Gordon Elliott, IRE)
  • Latest Exhibition (Paul Nolan, IRE)
  • Lieutenant Rocco (Colin Tizzard)
  • Longhouse Poet (Martin Brassil, IRE)
  • Lord Royal (Willie Mullins, IRE)
  • Macgiloney (Denis Hogan, IRE)
  • Make The Switch (John McConnell, IRE)
  • Mercian Knight (Amy Murphy)
  • Minella Encore (Willie Mullins, IRE)
  • Monkfish (Willie Mullins, IRE)
  • Mossy Fen (Nigel Twiston-Davies)
  • Mr Hendricks (Jessica Harrington, IRE)
  • Mr Katanga (Harry Whittington)
  • Muckamore (Nigel Twiston-Davies)
  • No Hidden Charges (Neil Mulholland)
  • Ofalltheginjoints (Colin Tizzard)
  • One For The Team (Nick Williams)
  • One Touch (Ben Pauling)
  • Opposites Attract (Dermot McLoughlin, IRE)
  • Oscar Academy (Olly Murphy)
  • Overthetop (Olly Murphy)
  • Perfect Harmony (Alan King)
  • Port Of Mars (Olly Murphy)
  • Ramses De Teillee (David Pipe)
  • Redford Road (Nigel Twiston-Davies)
  • Rocket Lad (Emmet Mullins, IRE)
  • Run Wild Fred (Gordon Elliott, IRE)
  • Ruthless Article (Rebecca Curtis)
  • Saint Xavier (Paul Nicholls)
  • Sempo (Joseph O’Brien IRE)
  • Shakem Up’arry (Ben Pauling)
  • Silver Sheen (Jessica Harrington, IRE)
  • Sixshooter (Noel Meade, IRE)
  • Some Detail (Nigel Hawke)
  • Stick With Bill (Harry Whittington)
  • The Big Breakaway (Colin Tizzard)
  • The Big Getaway (Willie Mullins, IRE)
  • The Bosses Oscar (Gordon Elliott, IRE)
  • The Butcher Said (Olly Murphy)
  • The Cashel Man (Nicky Henderson)
  • The Wolf (Olly Murphy)
  • Thyme Hill (Philip Hobbs)
  • Timberman (Nicky Henderson)
  • Vent d’Automne (Willie Mullins, IRE)
  • Vis Ta Loi (Willie Mullins, IRE)
  • Young Bull (Harry Whittington)

Share this article:

Lorem ipsum dolor sit, amet consectetur adipisicing elit. Explicabo dignissimos quam voluptatem quia laboriosam fugiat maxime obcaecati velit laudantium!