2020 Marsh Novices’ Chase entries: Samcro among record 71 in 2m 4f Cheltenham Festival Grade 1

14th September 2021

2020 Marsh Novices' Chase entries at the Cheltenham Festival include Samcro

There are a record 71 Marsh Novices’ Chase entries, formerly known as the JLT, which will be run for the tenth time in 2020.

Among the contenders for the 2m 4f Grade 1 contest at the Cheltenham Festival on Thursday, 12 March is Samcro.

The Gordon Elliott trained eight-year-old, who carries the famous maroon and white colours of Gigginstown House Stud, looked to have the world at his feet when landing the 2018 Ballymore Novices’ Hurdle.

However, the wheels came off in spectacular fashion the following season when connections decided to keep the strapping gelding over hurdles and he failed to win any of his three starts.

Samcro then impressively won by 17 lengths on his belated chase debut fences at Down Royal at the start of this campaign.

After then falling when upsides Fakir D’oudairies In the Drinmore at Fairyhouse when going well, he only found a rejuvenated Faugheen too good last time out in a Grade 1 at Limerick.

Gigginstown have won the Marsh twice before courtesy of Sir Des Champs (2012) and Shattered Love (2018). Samcro is fancied by many to follow in that pair’s hoofprints.

Champion Irish trainer Willie Mullins has 12 Marsh Novices’ Chase entries as he chases a fifth victory in the race.

They include Easy Game and Allaho, who were first and second in a beginners chase at Leopardstown over Christmas.

Grade 1 winning mare Laurina and the fellow former Cheltenham Festival score 12-year-old Faugheen are also among possible Mullins mounts.

The home challenge includes the Nicky Henderson trained Mister Fisher and Midnight Shadow, a leading hope for the north who hails from the yard of Sue Smith.

Both have won over fences at Cheltenham this season.

Full 2020 Marsh Novices’ Chase entries

  • Al Dancer (Nigel Twiston-Davies)
  • Allaho (Willie Mullins, IRE)
  • Annamix (Willie Mullins, IRE)
  • Annie Mc (Jonjo O’Neill)
  • Aye Right (Harriet Graham)
  • Bapaume (Willie Mullins, IRE)
  • Battleoverdoyen (Gordon Elliott, IRE)
  • Beakstown (Dan Skelton)
  • Black Op (Tom George)
  • Brace Yourself (Noel Meade, IRE)
  • Brewin’upastorm (Olly Murphy)
  • Burbank (Nicky Henderson)
  • Caribean Boy (Nicky Henderson)
  • Cash Back (Willie Mullins, IRE)
  • Castlebawn West (Willie Mullins, IRE)
  • Champagne Classic (Gordon Elliott, IRE)
  • Champagne Court (Jeremy Scott)
  • Champagne Platinum (Nicky Henderson)
  • Dallas Des Pictons (Gordon Elliott, IRE)
  • Dommage Pour Toi (Henry De Bromhead, IRE)
  • Dunvegan (Pat Fahy, IRE)
  • Easy Game (Willie Mullins, IRE)
  • Encore Champs (Warren Greatrex)
  • Espoir De Guye (Venetia Williams)
  • Esprit Du Large (Evan Williams)
  • Fakir D’oudairies (Joseph O’Brien, IRE)
  • Fanion D’Estruval (Venetia Williams)
  • Faugheen (Willie Mullins, IRE)
  • Garo De Juilley (Sophie Leech)
  • Go Another One (John McConnell, IRE)
  • Good Boy Bobby (Nigel Twiston-Davies)
  • Grand Sancy (Paul Nicholls)
  • Highest Sun (Colin Tizzard)
  • Hold The Note (Mick Channon)
  • I Can’t Explain (Kim Bailey)
  • Imperial Aura (Kim Bailey)
  • Indietir (Christian Williams)
  • Itchy Feet (Olly Murphy)
  • Jarveys Plate (Fergal O’Brien)
  • Knight In Dubai (Dan Skelton)
  • Laurina (Willie Mullins, IRE)
  • Le Patriote (Dr Richard Newland)
  • Lisp (Alan King)
  • Maire Banrigh (Dan Skelton)
  • Master Tommytucker (Paul Nicholls)
  • Matfog (Arnaud Chaille-Chaille, FR)
  • Melon (Willie Mullins, IRE)
  • Midnight Shadow (Sue Smith)
  • Mister Fisher (Nicky Henderson)
  • Myth Buster (Henry De Bromhead, IRE)
  • Not That Fuisse (Dan Skelton)
  • Paint The Dream (Fergal O’Brien)
  • Poker Play (David Pipe)
  • Precious Cargo (Nicky Henderson)
  • Put The Kettle On (Henry De Bromhead, IRE)
  • Reserve Tank (Colin Tizzard)
  • Roll Again (Venetia Williams)
  • Rouge Vif (Harry Whittington)
  • Royal Rendezvous (Willie Mullins, IRE)
  • Saint Sonnet (Paul Nicholls)
  • Salsaretta (Willie Mullins, IRE)
  • Samcro (Gordon Elliott, IRE)
  • Simply The Betts (Harry Whittington)
  • Slate House (Colin Tizzard)
  • The Mighty Don (Nick Gifford)
  • Tidal Flow (Philip Hobbs)
  • Tornado Flyer (Willie Mullins, IRE)
  • Vision Des Flos (Colin Tizzard)
  • Walk Away (Henry De Bromhead, IRE)
  • Who Dares Wins (Alan King)
  • Windsor Avenue (Brian Ellison)

Share this article:

Lorem ipsum dolor sit, amet consectetur adipisicing elit. Explicabo dignissimos quam voluptatem quia laboriosam fugiat maxime obcaecati velit laudantium!